Find articles, books, journals & more |
Electromechanical Technology: Home
Featured Resources
In this video you’ll learn about Lockout Tagout – the process of disabling machinery or equipment, thus preventing release of hazardous energy during servicing and maintenance activities.
Graphic Products. (2016, April 29). What is lockout tagout?. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/PKahjg3naxs
Learning Objects
-
Digital Circuit DevicesThe two types of digital devices, logic gates and flip-flops, and the types of basic operations they perform are presented.
-
Logic ProbesIn this animated activity, learners examine the fundamental operation of a logic probe that is used to detect logic signals in a digital circuit.
-
Logic State SignalsIn this learning activity you'll identify the voltage levels produced or recognized by digital logic devices as valid or invalid logic state signals.
Recommended Databases
-
B.C. Campus Open Textbook Collection This link opens in a new window SEE ALSO: AtlanticOER, The B.C. Campus Open textbook Collection, The Open Textbook Library, and the Open Book Publishers eBooks on this list of databases
-
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window The Academic Collection has over 200,000 program-related eBooks from Ebsco, viewable and downloadable online.
-
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window SEE ALSO: The B.C. Campus Open Textbook Collection, and the Open Book Publishers eBooks on this list of databases
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as full-text for more than 4,600 records.
-
Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window Vocational Studies Premier is designed specifically for junior and community colleges. Subjects include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.
Occupational Health & Safety
-
Canadian Occupational Safety Canada's publication for health and safety professionals.
-
CCOHS: Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety Canada's national occupational health & safety resource. CCOHS promotes health & safety in the workplace through product information, health reports, training opportunities and much more.
-
WHMIS - Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System WHMIS is Canada's national hazard communication standard and is implemented through coordinated federal, provincial and territorial legislation. Health Canada's WHMIS Division serves as the national coordinator for the administration of the WHMIS program in Canada.
-
Workers Compensation Board of PEI This site contains links to the provincial acts and regulations workers and employers on PEI should be aware of , including the Occupational Health & Safety Act and General Regulations, and the Workers Compensation Act.
-
WorkSafe BC This site from the Workers Compensation Board of BC provide tools, publications, and other resources to help prevent the most common workplace injuries and illnesses; of special interest are the videos on a variety of topics.
Websites
-
All About Circuits This site provides a series of online textbooks written by Tony R. Kuphaldt covering electricity and electronics.
-
Engineering Toolbox Resources, tools and basic information.
-
The Learning Pit This site from Durham College provides trades and technology students and educators with access to PLC and Ladder Logic Simulators, Programmable Software Simulations, online interactive electrical code quizzes and much more.
eBooks
Tools
-
APA style guide Go here for the most up to date edition on how to reference and format your APA assignments.
-
Khan Academy With a library of thousands of videos and practice exercises covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history, the Khan Academy is on a mission to help you learn whatever you want, whenever you want, at your own pace.
-
lingro: The coolest dictionary known to hombre "lingro's mission is to create an on-line environment that allows anyone learning a language to quickly look up and learn the vocabulary most important to them." Enter a website address to make all of words on the page clickable. Click on words you don't know and a definition will pop-up.
-
Wisc-Online The Wisconsin Online Resource Centre is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called learning objects. These interactive learning objects have been created by instructors from Fox Valley Technical College and other colleges in the Wisconsin Technical College System.
-
Wisc-online Electromechanical Library The Wisconsin Online Resource Center Electromechanical Library is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called learning objects. These interactive learning objects focus on concepts that cover a broad-based electromechanical program and have been created primarily by instructors from Fox Valley Technical College and other colleges in the Wisconsin Technical College System.