Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Catalogue | A-Z List of Databases | Help with your Paper | Journal Finder | Hours | FAQs

Search Everything

 

Virtual Library Services: Home

Contact: 902-566-9558 / library@hollandcollege.com / Instagram: @hollandcollegelibrary / Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HCLibrary/

Subject Guides

Begin your research Here

The Library Subject Guides listed below include helpful information and links to databases and other web resources for each program taught at Holland College as well as other Study Guides

Course Guides

Research and Study Aid Guides

Holland College Library YouTube Channel

Holland College Students 24/7 from Home

Selected Producers from Films on Demand

 
Holland College Library Services subscribes to the Ebsco Academic eBook collection of over 200,000 eBooks. This is a great resource because you can access these eBooks from anywhere, anytime.
 
When searching for eBooks from home or anywhere off-campus (including Holland College wifi) you may first see a login page requiring you to enter your Holland College network username and password. For new students, the IT Services Dept. will send you this information after you have registered, to the home email address that you included in your registration. There is more information here on the IT Services Dept. website:  
 
 
You can read eBooks online if you wish or you can download them. Here is a link to the Ebsco online guide:
 
The free Adobe Digital Editions software is required to read Ebsco eBooks. It is best to install this software first before downloading  eBooks. For Mac and Windows desktops or laptops, when you open up the eBooks in this software, there is an option NOT to require a free Adobe Digital Editions account. For both Apple and Android smartphones and tablets, you will need to create a free Adobe Digital Editions account. 
 
As the video explains, you will need a free Ebsco account to download eBooks. You also have an option to sign in through Google.

How to request books

  • Visit the library catalogue and click on the My Account tab
  • Enter the 14 digit barcode on the front of your HollPass card
  • If you get a failed login message then your barcode has not been activated. Email the library at library@hollandcollege.com with your student ID number and barcode number to have your barcode activated or if you are having problems. Staff will email you back when your barcode has been entered into your account
  • Once you can login to My Account, search for the book that you want, click on the Request Item button, and select the pickup branch location
  • The library will contact you when the book is available for pickup. If the book is currently checked out, then the first request on the request list will be filled when it is returned. Then the second when the book is returned again etc. 
  • Do this for each book that you want 
  • You can also email staff at library@hollandcollege.com to pull the books that you want from the shelves for pickup
  • Books that are returned to the library must be quarantined for 3 days before they are available for pickup

New Ebsco eBooks : Selections from CHOICE Magazine's Top Community College Resources

Online Resources for Holland College Instructors

Selected Producers from Films on Demand

 
Holland College Library Services subscribes to the Ebsco Academic eBook collection of over 200,000 eBooks. This is a great resource because you can access these eBooks from anywhere, anytime.
 
When searching for eBooks from home or anywhere off-campus (including Holland College wifi) you may first see a login page requiring you to enter your Holland College network username and password. For new students, the IT Services Dept. will send you this information after you have registered to the home email address that you included in your registration. There is more information here on the IT Services Dept. website:  https://www.hollandcollege.com/its/
 
You can read eBooks online if you wish or you can download them. Here is a link to the Ebsco online guide:
 
The free Adobe Digital Editions software is required to read Ebsco eBooks. It is best to install this software first before downloading  eBooks. For Mac and Windows desktops or laptops, when you open up the eBooks in this software, there is an option NOT to require a free Adobe Digital Editions account. For both Apple and Android smartphones and tablets, you will need to create a free Adobe Digital Editions account. 
 
As the video explains, you will need a free Ebsco account to download eBooks. You also have an option to sign in through Google.

When you want to insert a link to an eBook in SAM, link the citation information to the embed code from the full title record in Ebsco as a link:

Here is an example:

Jeffrey V. Wells, Allison Childs Wells, & Robert Dean. (2017). Birds of Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao : A Site and Field Guide. Comstock Publishing Associates.

If you click on this eBook and view the full title record, you will see the Permalink button on the bottom of the right-side tools sidebar.

On this same sidebar you will find the Cite button
 
 

There is a widget available in SAM to easily add Films on Demand videos. When adding content in SAM select New -> Create a  File -> Insert Stuff -> Films on Demand then search for and embed the video. 

To embed National Film Board of Canada Videos into SAM select New -> Video or Audio and then insert the embed code from the video on the NFB site. There is a </> symbol below the video which will give you the code.

Here is a link to the National Film Board of Canada website: 

https://rpa.hollandcollege.com:2048/login?url=https://www.nfb.ca/

Remember also that Holland College Library Services subscribes to NFB's CAMPUS Education which allows you access to teaching guides, lesson plans and other teacher resources. You need to create a free CAMPUS account first. 

Here is link to the CAMPUS User Guide:

https://help.nfb.ca/knowledge-base/campus-user-guide/

And here is the link to create a CAMPUS account:

https://www.nfb.ca/transaction/institutional-subscription/token/7918563182148937/

Here is a PDF document with complete instructions:

How do I link to articles on SAM?

Ebsco databases provide a button called "Permalink" on the right side of the screen when you are in the article for you to copy and paste into SAM. When using the permalink, students can access this article from anywhere. You cannot use the URL in the browser's address box on top because it will send students to an error page.

For articles from other restricted Holland College Library databases, you may need to copy the following base URL to the beginning of the URL (please not that it is https not http). First look for a share or bookmark link that should have this base URL included. If not, then add it to the beginning. Please check with library staff if you have any questions.

https://rpa.hollandcollege.com:2050/login?url=

Please note that you are NOT allowed to upload the PDF files of the articles into SAM. You can only add links to the articles.

CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries

CHOICE is a good source for book reviews. Click on the link above. In the SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION box on the right, search for the topic of interest or a specific book title. Next, click on the Magazines link in the SHOWING RESULTS FOR section on the top of the search results list and Sort by Newest. There is a 180-day embargo by the publisher so Book Reviews published within the last six months will be unavailable: It will say "Citation Only."

Formatting Student Papers

Search Everything as Guest

  • No login required until accessing full-text articles restricted to Holland College students and staff
  • Limit to "Library catalogue only" to search for books in the Holland College libraries. 

Search for Audio Articles

Search for Audio Articles

This search box returns Ebsco articles in HTML format as well as PDF (if available). The HTML format allows you to listen to the article. You can also download the article as an MP3.

The Gale Power Search returns results from all three library Gale databases and all articles have text-to-speech.