Library Home: Security, Policing, Firefighting and Corrections: Home

Learning Objects

Investigation Report Writing
In this learning activity you'll read a police investigation report and click on correct report entries in parentheses.
Using an Evidence Bag
Explore how to use an evidence bag including how to open it, place items inside, and seal it for the crime lab.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier will be upgraded to Academic Search Complete on June 1, 2024 Academic Search Complete stands as a distinguished resource for scholarly investigation. Providing access to 5,675 active full-text journals. This collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) This link opens in a new window CanLII’s website is recognized as the largest Web resource providing access to legal documents from Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial governments for both legal practitioners and the general public. CanLII is now an essential component of the legal information system in Canada.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand contains thousands of streaming videos provided by the Films Media Group. The college currently subscribes to the Master Technical Collection which covers the subject areas of technical education, guidance counseling, careers & job search, family and consumer sciences. Also included in the subscription are the subject areas of Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with Full Text, an EBSCOHOST database, allows you to search and retrieve bibliographic and full text information from in the field of sociology. Sub-disciplines include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window Vocational Studies Premier is designed specifically for junior and community colleges. Subjects include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.

Websites

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies (CAEFS) Self-governing, community-based Elizabeth Fry Societies that work with and for women and girls in the justice system, particularly those who are, or may be, criminalized.
Canadian Firefighter
Canadian Security: The publication for professional security management Website of the bimonthly magazine for Canadian security professionals. Includes a news feature that captures current security related stories in industry, retail, campus and other areas.
The Canadian Society of Evidence-Based Policing (CAN - SEBP)
CANASA: Canadian Security Association The website of a national not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the security industry.
Correctional Service Canada
Firefighting in Canada
Office of the Correctional Investigator The primary function of the Office is to investigate and bring resolution to individual offender complaints. The Office as well, has a responsibility to review and make recommendations on the Correctional Service's policies and procedures associated with the areas of individual complaints to ensure that systemic areas of concern are identified and appropriately addressed.
Parole Board of Canada
Policing in Canada
Policing in Canada in the 21st Century
Policing in Canada vs Policing in the USA
Public Safety Canada
Youth Justice Canada

Help

E-books

Study Skills Strategies Whether you're learning in a classroom, online, or even in a book, good study habits are essential. Our lives are busy. It's hard enough to find the time to learn new skills, which means it's that much more important to maximize your efforts and ensure results.

Contact

Jean Lykow

Email Me

Contact:

Schurman Resource Centre,
Summerside Waterfront Campus

902-888-6738

Search Everything

Click here to test out the new library search interface

Security, Policing, Firefighting and Corrections: Home

Featured Resources

Learning Objects

Recommended Databases

Websites

Help

E-books

Contact