Find articles, books, journals & more |
Child and Youth Care Worker: Home
Posters
Recommended Databases
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,840 journals, as well as full text for more than 950 journals, and includes full text for more than 81 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
-
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowERIC is an index to the worldwide literature of education. Coverage includes periodicals as well as books, pamphlets, ERIC Digests, curriculum guides, bibliographies, and unpublished works such as conference papers and government reports.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text, an EBSCOHOST database, allows you to search and retrieve bibliographic and full text information from in the field of sociology. Sub-disciplines include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
eBooks
Oxford University Press Open Access eBooks
Explaining Imagination
"Imagination will remain a mystery--we will not be able to explain imagination--until we can break it into parts we already understand. Explaining Imagination is a guidebook for doing just that, where the parts are other ordinary mental states like beliefs, desires, judgments, and decisions"
Measuring Well-Being : Interdisciplinary Perspectives from the Social Sciences and the Humanities
"This edited volume explores conceptual and practical challenges in measuring well-being. Given the bewildering array of measures available, and ambiguity regarding when and how to measure particular aspects of well-being, knowledge in the field can be difficult to reconcile"
Making AI Intelligible
"Can humans and artificial intelligences share concepts and communicate? One aim of Making AI Intelligible is to show that philosophical work on the metaphysics of meaning can help answer these questions"
Everything Flows : Towards a Processual Philosophy of Biology
"Everything Flows explores the metaphysical thesis that the living world is not made up of substantial particles or things, as has often been supposed, but is rather constituted by processes"
Conceptual Engineering and Conceptual Ethics
"Conceptual engineering and conceptual ethics are branches of philosophy concerned with questions about how to assess and ameliorate our representational devices (such as concepts and words)"
Impossible Worlds
"We need to understand the impossible. Francesco Berto and Mark Jago start by considering what the concepts of meaning, information, knowledge, belief, fiction, conditionality, and counterfactual supposition have in common"
