Skip to Main Content

Find articles, books, journals & more
 

Holland College Library: Home

Subject Guides

Begin your research Here

The Library Subject Guides listed below include helpful information and links to databases and other web resources for each program taught at Holland College as well as other Study Guides

Course Guides

Research and Study Aid Guides

Resources for HC Instructors

Welcome to Holland College! Check out the New Staff Orientation Page to discover the services Holland College Libraries offers instructors. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Selected Categories  from Kanopy Films

Selected Producers from Films on Demand

 
Holland College Library Services subscribes to the Ebsco Academic eBook collection of over 200,000 eBooks. This is a great resource because you can access these eBooks from anywhere, anytime.
 
When searching for eBooks from home or anywhere off-campus (including Holland College wifi) you may first see a login page requiring you to enter your Holland College network username and password. For new students, the IT Services Dept. will send you this information after you have registered to the home email address that you included in your registration. There is more information here on the IT Services Dept. website:  https://www.hollandcollege.com/its/
 
You can read eBooks online if you wish or you can download them. Here is a link to the Ebsco online guide:
 
The free Adobe Digital Editions software is required to read Ebsco eBooks. It is best to install this software first before downloading  eBooks. For Mac and Windows desktops or laptops, when you open up the eBooks in this software, there is an option NOT to require a free Adobe Digital Editions account. For both Apple and Android smartphones and tablets, you will need to create a free Adobe Digital Editions account. 
 
As the video explains, you will need a free Ebsco account to download eBooks. You also have an option to sign in through Google.

When you want to insert a link to an eBook in SAM, copy the APA citation and link this to the Permalink code from the full title record in Ebsco

Here is an example:

Jeffrey V. Wells, Allison Childs Wells, & Robert Dean. (2017). Birds of Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao : A Site and Field Guide. Comstock Publishing Associates.

If you click on this eBook and view the full title record, you will see the Permalink and Cite buttons on the right-side tools sidebar.

 

Kanopy videos

To add Kanopy videos into SAM, use the Share tab in the full title information screen in Kanopy to copy either the link or the embed code. If you use the embed code you don't see a screen capture of the video, just a generic screen with a link to the video in Kanopy.

Films on Demand videos

There is a widget available in SAM to easily add Films on Demand videos. When adding content in SAM select New -> Create a  File -> Insert Stuff -> Films on Demand then search for and embed the video. 

YouTube videos

There is also a YouTube widget in SAM. Use it the same way as the Films on Demand widget above except choosing the YouTube link in the "Insert Stuff" list. Just click on the title of the video then click the Next button on the bottom and finally click Insert then enter a title and click Publish. You should add the Author and Publication date in the "Add a description" section to give proper credit. You can click on the YouTube link on the bottom-right of the inserted video to open it up in YouTube to get this information. PLEASE READ the paragraph below:

Remember that you are responsible for ensuring that any YouTube content that you include in SAM does not violate copyright and that you use it in the terms set out in the YouTube Terms of Service. Please also view the library's Copyright FAQ

National Film Board of Canada Videos

To embed National Film Board of Canada Videos into SAM select New -> Video or Audio and then insert the embed code from the video on the NFB site. There is a </> symbol below the video that will give you the code.

Here is a link to the National Film Board of Canada website: 

https://rpa.hollandcollege.com:2050/login?url=https://www.nfb.ca/

Remember also that Holland College Library Services subscribes to NFB's CAMPUS Education which allows you access to teaching guides, lesson plans, and other teacher resources. You need to create a free CAMPUS account first. 

Here is the link to the CAMPUS User Guide:

https://help.nfb.ca/knowledge-base/campus-user-guide/

And here is the link to create a CAMPUS account:

https://www.nfb.ca/edu/learn/

Here is a PDF document with complete instructions:

How do I link to articles on SAM?

As Ebsco switches to a new user interface, you may see two different methods of linking to articles.

For the new user interface, which is what you will see except for the eBooks databases and article linkouts from the Publication Finder, Ebsco provides a button called "Create Link" on the "Share" menu when you are in the article record and you can copy and paste this link into SAM. When using this permalink, students can access this article from anywhere. You can also copy and paste the URL in the browser's address box on top.

For the eBooks databases and article linkouts from the Publication Finder, Ebsco provides a button called "Permalink" on the right side of the screen when you are in the article for you to copy and paste into SAM. When using the permalink, students can access this article from anywhere. You cannot use the URL in the browser's address box on top because it will send students to an error page.

Gale databases provide a similar "Get Link" button at the top of the article record that you can copy and paste into SAM. Unfortunately, you cannot use the URL in the browser's address box because students will not be able to access the article.

For articles from other restricted Holland College Library databases, such as ScienceDirect, you may need to copy the following string to the beginning of the URL (please note that it is https not http). First look for a share or bookmark link that should have this string included. If not, then add it to the beginning. Please check with library staff if you have any questions.

https://rpa.hollandcollege.com:2050/login?url=

Please note that you are NOT allowed to upload the PDF files of the articles into SAM. You can only add links to the articles.

In the "Add Existing Activities" menu, select "EBSCO Library eBook Search" (this will actually search everything in EBSCO, not only eBooks).

You are doing the same search as you would from the library website. This searches all the library databases for articles, eBooks, videos etc. as well as the library catalogue of print material. It searches all fields (including title, author, Subject and full-text). Use the Advanced search button for searches on specific indexes.

Once you do a search, use the "All filters" button to narrow your results to Peer-Reviewed, eBooks, videos, publication date etc. Select “at My Library” to only include available electronic resources. Once you have found a resource to use in your course, view it first using the Access options drop-down menu or the Access now button. Then click on the Add item button. Edit the entry to have it open as an external resource.

CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries

CHOICE is a good source for book reviews. Click on the link above. In the SEARCH WITHIN PUBLICATION box on the right, search for the topic of interest or a specific book title. Next, click on the Magazines link in the SHOWING RESULTS FOR section on the top of the search results list and Sort by Newest. There is a 180-day embargo by the publisher so Book Reviews published within the last six months will be unavailable: It will say "Citation Only."