Help with your Paper: Writing & Grammar Help

Clear Sentences make better writing!

You risk run-on sentences and comma splices when you try to add too many ideas. Break up the sentences into complete thoughts and bring the reader along with you. 

These resources will make your writing better by having a better understanding of grammar and structure 

• Grammar for Academic Writing: University of Hull 
  • Provides helpful videos, quizzes on important writing elements such as structure, punctuation, tense, and more
• Academic Phrase bank: University of Manchester 
  • Provides word choices for specific types of writing
• How to use correctly use Punctuation: University of Reading  
  • ​Provides descriptions and examples of how to use punctuation  
• How to Properly use Transitions: Dalhousie University 
  • Provides examples of how to make your writing smoother by using transitions in your writing. 
• How to Properly Introduce Quotes:  Penn State Abington 
  • Provides examples of how properly integrate quotes into your writing. 

These links provide a deeper understanding of the English language to help students write better papers 

• English Spell Checker: Grammar Check
  • This website is useful for International students to check their English spelling 
• Resources for Learning English: Education First 
  • This website provides handouts, and quizzes on English: Grammar, Vocabulary, Idioms, and much more.
• Grammar & Punctuation information & Handouts: Dalhousie University 
  • This website provides handouts on the Parts of Speech: Article usage, Single Vs Plural, and Verb Tenses 
• BBC Learning English: BBC 
  • This website includes helpful activities, videos, quizzes and other resources to help students write effectively 
• Grammar Exercises: Owl Purdue
  • Owl Perdue is a leader in creating content for writing, and this website includes helpful practice exercises for ESL learners. Use the left hand-side of the screen to navigate through this website. 
• Resources for Writing in English: University of Illinois 
  • This website provides helpful links and guides for ESL students 
• Proper Plural Usage: Nova Scotia Community College 
  • This sheet breaks down the proper ways to add 's' and which words accompany these types of words