In this video you’ll learn about Lockout Tagout – the process of disabling machinery or equipment, thus preventing release of hazardous energy during servicing and maintenance activities.
Graphic Products. (2016, April 29). What is lockout tagout?. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/PKahjg3naxs
In this learning activity, we’ll explore the impact of electric shock on the human body.
Recommended Databases
B.C. Campus Open Textbook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSearch for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats; the first step in adopting open educational resources. Search by subject and download them to your computer
eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Academic Collection has over 200,000 program-related eBooks from Ebsco, viewable and downloadable online
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as full-text for more than 4,600 records.
Open Textbook LibraryThis link opens in a new windowOpen textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 703 textbooks, with more being added all the time.
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Vocational Studies PremierThis link opens in a new windowVocational Studies Premier is designed specifically for junior and community colleges. Subjects include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding to name a few.
HowStuffWorksHowStuffWorks, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Discovery Channel, is the source of credible, unbiased and easy-to-understand explanations of how the world works.
CCOHS: Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and SafetyCanada's national occupational health & safety resource. CCOHS promotes health & safety in the workplace through product information, health reports, training opportunities and much more.
WHMIS - Workplace Hazardous Materials Information SystemWHMIS is Canada's national hazard communication standard and is implemented through coordinated federal, provincial and territorial legislation. Health Canada's WHMIS Division serves as the national coordinator for the administration of the WHMIS program in Canada.
Workers Compensation Board of PEIThis site contains links to the provincial acts and regulations workers and employers on PEI should be aware of , including the Occupational Health & Safety Act and General Regulations, and the Workers Compensation Act.
WorkSafe BCThis site from the Workers Compensation Board of BC provide tools, publications, and other resources to help prevent the most common workplace injuries and illnesses; of special interest are the videos on a variety of topics.
Tools
APA style guideGo here for the most up to date edition on how to reference and format your APA assignments.
Khan AcademyWith a library of thousands of videos and practice exercises covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history, the Khan Academy is on a mission to help you learn whatever you want, whenever you want, at your own pace.
lingro: The coolest dictionary known to hombre"lingro's mission is to create an on-line environment that allows anyone learning a language to quickly look up and learn the vocabulary most important to them." Enter a website address to make all of words on the page clickable. Click on words you don't know and a definition will pop-up.
Wisc-OnlineThe Wisconsin Online Resource Centre is a digital library of Web-based learning resources called learning objects. These interactive learning objects have been created by instructors from Fox Valley Technical College and other colleges in the Wisconsin Technical College System.
eBooks
Study Skills StrategiesWhether you're learning in a classroom, online, or even in a book, good study habits are essential. Our lives are busy. It's hard enough to find the time to learn new skills, which means it's that much more important to maximize your efforts and ensure results.
